• Shelby Roberts

Meet your locally elected Scott SWCD Board Members

Updated: May 19, 2021

The Scott Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is a political subdivision of the State of Minnesota established in 1941 to provide a wide variety of technical, financial, scientific, and educational services to assist landowners and other local units of government conserve our County’s land, water and related natural resources.

The Scott SWCD Board of Supervisors is responsible for setting policies and overall direction for the SWCD’s programs and services, as well as providing a regular liaison channel for the communities they serve. And recently, new appointments were established on that team.

Last November, Supervisors Gary Hartmann (District I), Jim Fitzsimmons (District IV), and Robert Casey (District V) were re-elected for another 4-year term. At their first meeting in January the Board elected their officer position and made appointments to various working committees.

Rob Casey, Credit River resident, accepted the Board’s Chair position and was assigned to three different committees including Education, Tree, and Equipment Rental. Doug Schoenecker, a New Prague resident, accepted the Vice-chair position and was assigned to the Financial Committee. Gary Hartmann, Shakopee resident, accepted the Secretary/Treasurer position and was assigned to the Finance Committee and will serve as the Board’s liaison to Scott County Association for Leadership and Efficiency (SCALE). Linda Brown, from Elko New Market, was assigned to the Personnel Committee along with Jim Fitzsimmons, Prior Lake resident. Fitzsimmons will also serve as liaison to the Prior Lake Spring Lake Watershed District.

Regular meetings of the board occur on the third Tuesday of each month and are open to the public. Regular meetings begin at 9:00am at the Scott Extension and Conservation Center on the Scott County Fairgrounds, 7151 W 190th St, Jordan, MN.


Recent Posts

See All